Happy new year.

Heart-to-heart talks can be disenchanting.

It forces you to face reality.

Perhaps I was a fool to think something would come of it.

But my friends and family … without even saying it out loud … they know it won’t work.

Yes, maybe I was stupid to wish it could work out.

This is the hopeful me writing with my virtual heart breaking into pieces, finally realizing the futility of it all.

I’ve nursed this feeling for years now. Oh yes, there were times I had been distracted, but essentially it was your name I carried in my heart.

But the new year is coming. And with it comes new hope.

And the old resolve to forget you once and for all.

Maybe this time I’ll get lucky.

Leave a Reply

