Shipping and concert woes.

At the dinner table earlier, my sister and I were talking about international shipping problems. She ordered a book from Barnes & Noble, and it still hasn’t arrived (shipping details stated 15 days, and it’s been more than 15 days — my sister had even included the grace period of holy week in her day count). B&N gave her a refund (which is a very cool thing for it to do), but the fact remains: my sister has no idea where the book is now. So she’s advised me to course any future book orders through Power Books, just to be on the safe side.

And, well, this shipping horror story now gives me misgivings about ordering online. In my previous post, I mentioned about wanting to buy the boxed set. (Drooling over it every time I look at the pic, actually. :D) And then I checked the shipping date again – July 6. In the event I am able to come up with the money (hello, family and friends! hahaha!), it won’t be released before my sister comes back home from a month-long stay in the US.

And so, on to Plan B, which is to visit Tower Records (or a similar record store) and see if I can course my order through it. If not, then I guess I could hold out for getting a “stripped-down version through regular retail”, which I’m unsure will push through.

Speaking of prices, the box set is priced the same as an Ipod Touch, which I was considering buying, since I really want a new music player. (I’m foregoing buying a tablet because I want to buy a netbook first. And maybe if I haven’t bankrupt myself I’d buy an Android-powered tablet after the netbook and the ipodtouch so I can have systems running Ubuntu, Windows, iOS and Android. So much for clouds. ๐Ÿ˜€ ) Anyway, that was a pretty great idea… until I learned that the iTunes Philippine store doesn’t sell music. Ooookay. The whole point was for me to finally try buying digital music because I want those iTunes bonus tracks. (The collector in me, you know?) Soooooo… Looks like the only solid thing on my to-buy list is the netbook. ๐Ÿ˜€

As if I haven’t overthought my intended purchases enough, I’m still mulling over how I’m going to afford them and still be able to buy a ticket to Lifehouse’s concert here in Manila next month. I missed out on seeing them the first time they came here, and I don’t want to miss out this time because they’ve been a huge inspiration to me during my freshman year in law school. (Not to mention I’m somehow free from the rock I’ve been hiding under all these years.) Anyway, I’m still unsure how I’m going to get a ticket and who I’m going with. Hopefully I won’t be bogged down with work during that time so I can still work out how I’m going to be there…

Leave a Reply

